REVIEWS

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

75 reviews of Hotel de France et de Russie in Thiviers

Excellence-Badge_2013_endownloadenglish
 
 My wife and I spent a week in the large en suite room on the first floor, over looking the garden. The room was delightful and tastefully furnished with the largest “emperor”bed we ever slept in. We were in Room 2 and our Ozzie relatives were just as pleased with number 5. Nikki, the proprietor of the hotel, went out of her way to ensure that we had a wonderful stay and was a mine of information about the region. She guided us to all the sights, including historic chateaux, quaint villages, best shopping venues (truffles, French cheeses, foie gras, ceramics and more!), and also ‘off the beaten track’ spots. The memory of the breakfast coffee and croissants lingers….
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family

18th January 2015

Dear Nicky
I just wanted to thank you for your wonderful hospitality while we were in Thiviers.  It was great fun meeting you and staying at your hotel.  By the way, all your recommendations for restaurants were spot on.  We enjoyed every meal and especially the croissants at breakfast.  I missed them when I came home and have already started my diet!
Hope to see you in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards
Deborah (Middleton)
5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days agoNEW

Unfortunately we had only one night at this charming old stone hotel. A small but perfectly adequate bedroom with a really comfortable French bed (still can’t get used to the French bolsters though!) which was very welcome after 14 hours on the road. The hotel has a lovely front garden with a few tables for sitting out and inside, a comfortable lounge with small bar. We didn’t have the breakfast (E8) but the breakfast room looked good. The lounge/bar offered a variety of guidebooks on the local area and an armchair in front of the large open fire would be a perfect place to linger on a cold winters evening.
Be warned. Reception officially closes at 8pm. We were running late and rang ahead to let them know. The delightful lady on duty (also on duty at 7.30am the next morning) was kind enough to wait for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
5 of 5 starsGreat big room with antique furniture and a wonderful huge old fashioned bathtub. As it was Sunday night and there was no restaurant open in the village, Nicole the owner came from her home and cooked for us. The French lady receptionist was full of smiles and friendliness. Highly recommend a stay here.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
5 of 5 starsReviewed 6 August 2014

Delightful hotel with all the best features of English and French hospitality. A kettle for making early morning tea is even available on request, which is not something French hotels usually provide. All staff were helpful and friendly and continental breakfast was good. It’s a shame there are no evening meals as there is not much else open in Thiviers in the evening

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
5 of 5 starsReviewed 24 July 2014

We were warmly welcomed by the English owner of the hotel who recommended a very good restaurant. The room was great with a big bathroom and the hotel is very convenient for the railway station. Thiviers is a busy town but with many historical buildings and Sartre spent part of his childhood here. Excellent walking country surrounds the town

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends

The perfect place to stay.

5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 June 2014

We recently spent 5 nights at the hotel whilst looking for property in the region. Nicola and her staff made us very welcome and were very helpful in our search. The Hotel is tastefully furnished throughout, the bedroom and particularly was very comfortable. To be recommended if ever you are in the area.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which overlooked the front entrance and gardens. It was very quiet and peaceful.
4 of 5 stars

Four of us spent the night in thiviers, whilst attending a plant fair in St jean de Cole we had a great welcome from Nicola and enjoyed both the hotel and the surroundings . One of us, a normally grouchy traveller , even found the beds comfortable. Great place to stay.

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This charming old hotel is located in a quiet part of the town and has off road parking. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and well appointed. There are also two comfortable sitting rooms provided with books and games for guests to use. The atmosphere throughout is reminiscent of an English country house.
The English manager and her French staff are friendly and efficient.
We felt as if we were the spoilt house guests of a perfect host.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great location and very helpful people run this hotel. Clean and welcoming.( Also well adapted to suit people with mobility needs if necessary.)Good coffee; great french breakfast. I came in by train from close to the Spanish border having set off at 6.am. and so was particularly weary due to the vagaries of the SNCF.( train cancelled and bus instated…

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 30 November 2012

A couple of months ago I departed by car from home in old blighty at 05:00 for a trip to the Dordogne, I arrived some 14 hours later to a warm welcome from Nicola. Some 90 seconds later with bags unceremoniously discarded in the lobby an ice cold beer was offered to the weary traveller and hastily consumed. Hence the…

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 15 September 2012

We loved this charming, fun hotel in the Perigord. The muliti-lingual owner is great value, with a wealth of knowledge about travel near and far, not to mention a fabulous sense of humour. The rooms are charming, beautifully appointed and each with its own character. Breakfast is a delight in the dining room complete with antique furniture. We highly recommendvthis…

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

A tremendous base for Perigord Vert, nothing too much trouble and very homely without being intrusive. Good value for money, fabulous rooms topped with a relaxing lounge and great garden ideal for morning coffee.

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 August 2012

The warm welcome by a charming English lady was unexpected in a small French town. The hotel was very clean with lots of atmosphere in an house with a history. The beautiful garden invited to relax and we stayed an extra day in Thiviers just to rest and enjoy. So if your travel leads you to Thiviers, we can definitely…

Reviews from Booking.com click here for more

September 16, 2015
“Amazing”
September 10, 2015
“Excellent service and a beautiful hotel” The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The way the hotel was presented was a delight

August 18, 2015

“Excellent period hotel” The staff were excellent, especially Veronique who made a special breakfast when one of us was feeling unwell. Very good value for money.

August 1, 2015

“Great stay in a lovely bijou hotel.” – Friendliness of Nicola, the owner.

March 26, 2015

Very good – Friendly hospitality

20 May 2014

Evaldo, Rio De Janeiro (BR)
“Um excelente custo-beneficio, muito bem localizado, quarto amplo e confortável com excelente atendimento e serviço de hotel 5 estrelas.”

“An excellent cost-effective, very well located, spacious and comfortable room with great service and 5 star hotel service.”

21 April 2014

 “Very friendly staff give the hotel a lovely personal touch. Well-appointed rooms and delightful decor throughout the hotel, reflecting the owner´s beautiful decorative possessions – I´m glad that I don´t have to do the dusting!”
14 March 2014
“Nous avons apprécié l’hotel en lui même, son cadre, sa décoration et le personnel accueillant et discret. Merci à eux.”
7 February 2014
“Very comfortable room with huge bathroom, in the beautiful main building. Very friendly reception all through our stay. The location was perfect for us, within easy walking distance of the town centre.”

Author:
Thivers Hotel (G+)